I Don’t Like Mondays (But Who Does?)

This lovely song popped into my head this morning. It’s an old one from the Boomtown Rats and is known by many people in my generation – it has been sung at work numerous Mondays. Perhaps more are aware of their lead singer, Bob Geldorf, known by many people for his incredible work creating Band Aid, a group made up of various artists, who put together a charity song “Do They Know It’s Christmas?” to help with the devastating famine in Ethiopia during the 1980’s. He continued this mission and created a dual-continent concert in July of 1985, Live Aid, staged simultaneously at the Wembley Stadium in London and John F. Kennedy Stadium in Philadelphia. It was the concert of the century, for numerous people. He did some amazing things, but with every Monday that rolls around, I somehow find this song stuck in my head.

Yet, I have a feel many of us do. Especially if we are not thrilled with the work ahead, the place we spend the majority of our days and weeks, and not pursuing the things that truly give us pleasure. Not hedonistic pleasure. But the time and space to follow our passion. The one thing, that if I didn’t have to be stuck here 8-hours a day, I would be focusing on much more. More so than when I am attempting to multi-task through numerous emails, assignments, calls from up north and simply people. Hell, our wonderful custodian walked into my office this morning and said “what is with everyone today?” It’s the case of the Mondays.

Since I have been trying really hard to realign my attitude and thoughts, I am always open to discovering ways to do this. To let things go and just be in the moment. I meditated again. I breathed. I had a short workout. And then I came to work. Right now, that is a good start – we’re on week two or three of this experiment. I am seeing results, or perhaps feeling them, more.

Yet, I am always searching for advice and or tools that I can incorporate into my day, my life, so I can regain that blissful period of my life when I did live in the moment, day after day. This was with my husband. My guide. I lost that guide and ignored all his sage advice for years. It is only now, when faced with a wall that will not allow me to go further or break through the negativity, that I am trying to readopt that part of my life. If he could do it, so can I. Even with my crazy brain. Not everyday will be perfect. Not everyday will the sun shine, nor will I feel there is any hope. Though, if I practice enough perhaps they could get further and further away.

I am also going to cleanse my body. I feel that the toxins are building up and though I am a healthy person, eater, etc., I have not been enjoying the sluggishness I have felt of late. Perhaps it is the horrendous heat and humidity of the Swamp. But I want to feel more alive, happier, and I know that improving my diet will help with this.

But here’s the real reason for this post (besides not liking Monday’s): I came across this article. And it’s amazing. I love how it begins, at Burning Man with the telephone to god (or whomever is on the line). “How can I live more in the moment?” the caller asks. The response is “breathe“. I was hooked the minute I read that. And it only, in my opinion, got better. The steps are simple, clear and full of ways to help one find their flow, how to live in the moment, and perhaps most importantly the necessity of breathing. I am bookmarking it and will be returning to it over and over again.

How will the day play out? I have no clue. But I have an outline, fuzzy around the edges right now, of what I would like to accomplish this week, what I would like to focus on. Of course, some of my brainpower will be taken up with the work I do for the industry I am in, but I hope the rest of the time, I can focus on me and breathing and living in the moment.

And I am giving up the iPad I’ve held hostage for a year (mistakenly, have held it hostage). I ordered a white noise machine to sleep so I don’t hear my neighbors – which is one reason I held onto the iPad for so long. It went to bed with me to drown them out. But with it, as I often find myself after a long day, I simply go home and crash out to Netflix on it for the night. Without it in my life (though I will miss the amazing resolution it gives), it will free up my time for other things, like reading. More writing. Listening to myself and focusing on being in the moment.

Because I have wasted too many, and I don’t want to anymore.

© Sorrow & Kindness

Leave a Reply

